Do I need a work permit?
A few jobs do not require a work permit: Any minor (child under the age of 18 years) may work the following types of jobs without a work permit, as long as the work is not performed during school hours:
- Farm work;
- Domestic work;
- Working for a parent’s business;
- Caddying at a golf course;
- Teaching on a sailboat;
- Delivering newspapers;
- Making an evergreen wreath in or near a home;
- Acting as a counselor or instructor at a youth camp; or
- Performing unpaid volunteer work.
Age 14-17: If you are between the ages of 14 and 17 years, you must have a work permit to work any other job.
Age 0-13: If you are under the age of 14 years, you may not work any other job unless you get a special permit to be employed as an entertainer, model, or performer.
Steps to get a work permit:
- Get a job offer
- Get a work permit application from your school or apply online at the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation Employment of Minors (Work Permit) page.
- You, your parent/guardian, and your employer must sign the permit.
- Bring the permit and your proof of age (identification) to school and have it signed.
Remember: If you change jobs you need a new permit!
Read the law: MD Code Labor & Employment § 3-206
Other work rules that apply to minors:
If you are 14 and 15 years old, you may NOT work:
- more than 4 hours on any day when school is in session
- more than 8 hours a day when school is not in session
- more than 23 hours in a week when school is in session for 5 days
- more than 40 hours in a week when school is not in session
- before 7 am or after 8 pm, Labor Day through Memorial Day
- before 7 am or after 9pm, Memorial Day through Labor Day
Read the law: MD Code Labor & Employment § 3-211
If you are 16 and 17 years old:
- You may not exceed more than 12 school and work hours in a single day
- You must have 8 consecutive hours, every day, that are neither school nor work time
- You may not work more than 5 consecutive hours without a break (non-working time)
Read the Law: MD Code Labor & Employment § 3-210
The law also lists certain jobs that minors are not allowed to do.
Read the Law: MD Code Labor & Employment 3-213
Are parents entitled to a minor’s income?
In Maryland, your parents may be allowed to take control of the money you earn if you are under the age of 18. The Court of Appeals of Maryland has stated that a parent has a right to a child’s earnings. But that right may be lost in certain circumstances. For instance, a parents right a child’s earnings can be lost where the parent abandons or neglects the child, or forces the child to leave the home. Lucas v. Maryland Drydock Co., 182 Md. 54 (Md. 1943).